My Fun Art Project – Turning My Boring Broken Air Hockey Table into an Awesome Comic Book Studio Desk

Last week I was inspired to create a comic book themed table after looking at some cool designs that other creative folks had posted on Pinterest. I have a Mancave in my unfinished basement and lately it’s been feeling pretty boring. I can’t hang anything up on the wall because…well, they are solid concrete walls with insulation on the outside and nowhere to hang anything up. I had been looking for some fun things to do to spruce up my space where I go for solace and inspiration…my Fortress of Nerditude! After stumbling upon and browsing through some Pinterest and You Tube pages of other creative folks doing similar projects, I decided I wanted to try my hand at this as well. I spent several hours Wednesday Evening of last week looking through my short box of duplicate and banged up comics for images. On Thursday I picked up my materials – paint brush, Minwax Water-based Polycrylic and a sponge, and I started adhering images to the table. I used both sides of the sponge in order to smooth out any bubbles and to maintain a smooth solid stick to the surface. Here’s what I ended up with:

My New Comic Book Art Studio Desk Made from An Old Air Hockey Table and Some Damaged and Duplicate Comics from My Collection
My New Comic Book Art Studio Desk Made from An Old Air Hockey Table and Some Damaged and Duplicate Comics from My Collection

 
Edge of the Table Has Superhero Profile Collages Made by Me - I previously posted these Images in my PowBoom Bang Blog.  Now they are an awesome permanent fixture to my cool new table!
Edge of the Table Has Superhero Profile Collages Made by Me – I previously posted these Images in my PowBoom Bang Blog. Now they are an awesome permanent fixture to my cool new table!

 
Along the Outside of the Table - Superman vs Darkseid and DC Villains - Spider-Man vs the Black Costume Symbiote - MARVEL Villains
Along the Outside of the Table – Superman vs Darkseid and DC Villains – Spider-Man vs the Black Costume Symbiote – MARVEL Villains

 
Left Leg #1 - DC Comics - New Teen Titans - Legion of Superheroes - All-Star Squadron - Justice League International
Left Leg #1 – DC Comics – New Teen Titans – Legion of Superheroes – All-Star Squadron – Justice League International

 
Left Leg #2 - DC Comics - Shazam & Superman-Batman & Uncle Sam & Elongated Man - Hawkman & The Atom - Green Arrow (Wonder Woman images are on the last side but I failed to take a picture of that - oops!)
Left Leg #2 – DC Comics – Shazam & Superman-Batman & Uncle Sam & Elongated Man – Hawkman & The Atom – Green Arrow (Wonder Woman images are on the last side but I failed to take a picture of that – oops!)

 
Right Leg #1 - MARVEL Comics - Hulk - Ghost Rider - Moon Knight - Captain America  and The Punisher
Right Leg #1 – MARVEL Comics – Hulk – Ghost Rider – Moon Knight – Captain America and The Punisher

 
Right Leg #2 - MARVEL Comics - X-Men - New Defenders - Guardians of the Galaxy - Alpha Flight
Right Leg #2 – MARVEL Comics – X-Men – New Defenders – Guardians of the Galaxy – Alpha Flight

 
Completed Table - My New Art Studio Desk
Completed Table – My New Art Studio Desk

 
All in all over the course of 6 days (Wednesday to Monday), I spend about 28 hours working on this project. I did quite a bit on the weekend evenings and was fortunate enough to have both Monday and Tuesday off of work to really get in there and put this all together. Aside from getting high from all of the Polycrylic fumes and getting my fingers stuck together (wear gloves kids), I really enjoyed this project and it’s probably one of my favourites that I’ve had the pleasure of working on. A day later and I’m already scouring the ‘Cave for other inspired project ideas!!
 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This is soooo amazingggg 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. IMSTILLAKID says:

      Thanks! Fun to do too!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

