I Don’t Like Carving Pumpkins…But I LOVE Painting Them!!

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve loved seeing Jack O’Lanterns on steps and porches as Halloween approached. I love the display of creativity that goes in to each of them and I have always been a fan. One slight problem though. I’m not a fan of carving pumpkins. I never have been. For one, as far as the arts goes, basic cutting – carving – pasting – sculpting has never really been a point of interest for me. Secondly, I’m not a fan of touching slimey things. Because I’m a Princess, I guess. It might be because it’s messy, it might be because I’m left-handed in a crazy righty world, but I’ve always tried to put my own spin on Jack O’Lanterns, which is why I paint them instead.

I really started doing this practice a few years ago. It allowed me to get into the spirit of the season, express my creativity, and not have to deal with all the slimey mess. 🙂 I don’t have many photos from previous years, but last year I took a couple of pictures of the Pumpkins I designed. They are painted with acrylics as I find that paint withstands weather the best. They were ghoulishly fun!
nbsp;
FRANKENSTEIN’S MONSTER

Frankenstein's Monster Painted Pumpkin by Gerry Albert - More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/
Frankenstein’s Monster Painted Pumpkin by Gerry Albert – More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/

The visage of Boris Karloff’s classic Monster is iconic. It transcends the Horror genre and is instantly recognizable the world over. When I sat down to paint the pumpkin last year, I was inspired to paint the Monster because I had just finished a Universal Monsters Classic Horror Movie Marathon (consisting of the Invisible Man, Dracula, the Wolf Man, Frankenstein, and Bride of Frankenstein) and the image was fresh in my mind. Of all the pumpkins I have painted throughout the years, this one is my favourite.
 
GRUMPY ONE-EYED CHAIN SMOKER
Grumpy One-Eyed Chain Smoker Halloween Painted Pumpkin by Gerry Albert - More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/
Grumpy One-Eyed Chain Smoker Halloween Painted Pumpkin by Gerry Albert – More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/

I wanted to design something unique for the second pumpkin I made last year. I was dead-set on having a 3D cigar sticking out of the monster’s mouth. The teeth and the stogie were the first things I created on this pumpkin, and I drew the rest around them.

I’ve received a very good response from neighbours over the years for these as well. They find it different and colourful. Which I love to hear! A fun added bonus while painting these pumpkins, was having my daughter doing her own painting designs on the OPPOSITE side of the same pumpkins I was working on. It’s probably one of the first instances where Kenleigh and I worked on an art project together (yet separately). She loves them, and I look forward to picking up a few pumpkins seeing what design she and I can come up with this year!! Maybe this year I’ll try glow in the dark paint!!

If you’re looking to do something a little different yourself this Halloween, why not give this technique a try? You’ll be surprised what you can come up with.
I’ll be sure to post some pictures of this year’s display later!

Cheers!

G.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love the pumpkin with cigars ☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

