PLAY BALL!!

Several months ago I drew up a funny digital portrait of my daughter Kenleigh. I loved the image so much that I decided to incorporate part of the image into my company logo on my business cards for Imstillakid Designs. A little over a month ago, we had my cousin and her family over for a lovely visit and dinner, and she spotted that same framed picture of Kenleigh that I have already alluded to. Knowing that I had just launched my Art and Design company quietly 2 weeks prior, my cousin approached me about doing a portrait of her 3 sons. I told her that I would be honoured.

Play Ball Boys! by Gerry Albert  - More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/
Play Ball Boys! by Gerry Albert – More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/

It took me a couple of weeks to get to working on the picture, as I was busy from orders that had already come in and I wanted to complete those before working on something new, and I also was having difficulty with trying to position an image that would feature a 12 year old, a 4 year old, and an 8 month old in a shared setting and environment. Big age differences, so what could be a shared motif amongst the boys? It donned on me half way through the American League Championship series that these guys are a BASEBALL family and absolutely love the Toronto Blue Jays. Well, there was my answer! I’d design the image with the Boys playing the part of some Toronto Blue Jays. For added fun, I put them each in a different uniform from the team’s storied history.

Hung Up

Yesterday, my cousin and family returned to visit and I presented the poster to them and they loved it! The excited looks on Mommy and Daddy’s faces said it all! One thing I’m really enjoying in this whole business endeavour (besides making money), is how happy my work has made people. That makes me feel really awesome! My cousin sent me the photo above as soon as they got home from their visit with us — already have it adorning their wall. I might be a little biased, but I think that picture looks pretty good there, Cuz!

**Would You Like a Custom Designed Caricature Poster of Your Very Own? E-mail me for more information at: gerryalbert1976@gmail.com **

Leave a Reply

