Christmas Gift Portraitures

My Mom had requested of me to draw up a portrait poster of her two Granddaughters, my daughter Kenleigh and my great-niece Kaia, back in the summer. Well, when I launched Imstillakid Designs back in September 2015, I ended up getting pretty busy with jobs and commission requests that I didn’t have time to do this for my Mom and it sort of fell to the back burner. But in mid-November, with Christmas fast approaching, I decided to put together the portrait drawing of the girls together for my Mom as a Christmas gift instead of a paid gig from my Mom. As she is also a greenthumb and loves flowers, I decided to border the portrait with a variety of colourful flora. That really brought the piece together and really felt like something representative of my Mom. She was very pleased with the finished product when I presented it to her at Christmas!

"Kenleigh and Kaia" by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
“Kenleigh and Kaia” by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs

I was also very pleased with my finished piece, and I thought that a smaller poster portrait featuring just Kenleigh would make a nice gift for her OTHER Grandmother (my wife’s Mom) and Auntie and Uncle too, so with a few weeks to spare before Santa’s big day, I modified the picture and made a separate version with just my Crazy K Bird featured. Grandma and Grandpa, and Auntie and Uncle really enjoyed the framed picture gift.

"Kenleigh @ 4 Years Old" by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
“Kenleigh @ 4 Years Old” by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs

I cheated and ordered one for myself too (which I just put up at my desk at work to keep my spirits high every day!)….

Brightens up my drabby workstation!
Brightens up my drabby workstation!

My Neighbours Steve and Amanda are good peeps! Steve is very helpful when I demonstrate how little I know about being a Home Handyman, and I carpool with Amanda to the train every morning. I wanted to get them something nice / special for Christmas, but with my wife Val only working part-time gigs right now the $$$ has been a little tight to go out spending lots on gifts this year, so I decided to do a portrait of my friends-neighbours along with their two awesome dogs Richard and Maddie. The setting in the pic is more a cottage-esque setting in lieu of our actual homes. They both were quite thrilled when I presented it to them on Christmas Eve. I really enjoyed putting this one together.

"Steve, Amanda, Richard and Maddie" by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
“Steve, Amanda, Richard and Maddie” by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs

In the fantasyland that is my mind, I would have loved to present all my loved ones with their very own custom portrait pic for Christmas but time and moolah always put a kibosh on those ideas! Lol. Maybe NEXT Christmas!

**LOOKING TO GET AN ILLUSTRATED PORTRAIT DONE OF YOURSELF OR OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS? CONTACT ME @ gerryalbert1976@gmail.com TO DISCUSS DETAILS!!**

Leave a Reply

