“IT’S CLOBBERIN’ TIME!!”

Growing up, and well into my 20’s, I was a huge fan of WWE Sports Entertainment. About 8 years ago I stopped watching and following. No real reason other than I just drifted away from it — got married and my wife wasn’t into it, moved away from the gang that used to get together and watch the Pay-Per-Views together every month, or other things started demanding my attention. Last year, I stumbled upon some headlines and other details of match events that had happened that piqued my interest…the Undertaker’s undefeated Wrestlemania streak ended at 21-1 by Brock Lesnar, Edge’s retirement, long time hold out Sting made his WWE debut, “Arrow’s” Stephen Amell stepping into the ring against Stardust at Summerslam 2015, and tons of other stuff. There was enough of a spark of interest that I negotiated with my wife about getting the WWE Network in September and…well…let’s just say it’s THE ONLY thing I have been watching consecutively for the past 5 months! I am hooked all over again!!

My friends Mark, Brad, and Scott are all big WWE fans as well, and I asked them who their favourite wrestlers were of all-time. Mark and Brad’s responses seemed about as traditional as what my picks may have been, but Scott’s picks were a mix of old guard and newer superstars. Most notably, Scott mentioned that hands down his favourite was CM Punk…

Former WWE Champion and Superstar CM Punk
Former WWE Champion and Superstar CM Punk

That pick spiked my curiosity. Mostly, I think, because I really didn’t know who that was! Sure, I had heard of him. His name was familiar to me, but I didn’t recall ever having seen him wrestle before and was not too familiar with him altogether. Punk is not in the current WWE roster, having quit the organization in 2014 and now prepping to enter the octagon of UFC, so I started watching as many interviews – matches – anything that he was in that is floating around on YouTube. He’s kind of awesome. Not gonna lie. So one day in December, having just watched a re-airing on WWE Network of the TLC 2013 Pay-Per-View where Punk beat The Shield in a 3-on-1 handicap match, I decided I wanted to draw him. When I was finished the picture, I decided to have it made up into an 11×17 sized poster and I sent it as a gift to my friend Scott — who’s suggestion of his favourite wrestler ever inspired me to research the superstar in the first place.

CM Punk - A Gift I Drew Up for Fellow Fan and Friend Scott in Arnprior - by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
CM Punk – A Gift I Drew Up for Fellow Fan and Friend Scott in Arnprior – by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs

Here’s what the poster looks like…

"It's Clobberin' Time!!"
“It’s Clobberin’ Time!!”

Scott enthusiastically contacted me when he received the poster by mail, and told me how much he loved it. Then proceeded to hit me over the head with a steel chair and levelled me in typical heel fashion with a superkick to the face. Well, not really…but a fan can dream, no?

If you are a WWE Fan, keep your eyes peeled here over the coming weeks as I have a few others in the works right now. Hoping to finish them up once I free up some leisure drawing time! Thanks for reading folks!

**INTERESTED IN HAVING SOMETHING MADE UP FOR YOU? CUSTOM POSTER COLLAGES OF YOUR FAVOURITE SHOWS OR GAMES OR BANDS OR TEAMS? FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME WITH YOUR REQUESTS @ gerryalbert1976@gmail.com **

2 Comments Add yours

  1. therog says:

    Love the poster!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks therog! I’m currently working on a couple of other WWE posters but not finished yet. Working on one of the New Day and the other is a massive collage (probably take me forever to finish THAT one! Lol).

      Like

Leave a Reply

