TAZ and LEGO Thomas

Early in November I offered a Poster Promotion, and a couple of people took advantage of that promo and Commissioned me to draw up a couple of posters. That redundant, run on sentence aside, these two posters were ordered for specific people in mind and was a lot of fun to put together.

LEGO Thomas was a commission from my cousin Renelle in Arnprior for her son Thomas, who is a huge Lego AND Ottawa Senators fan. Having seen and admired my previous Lego Man posters, Renelle contacted me about doing one for Thomas to have as a Christmas Gift. Thomas is a really cool and imaginative little boy, who once told me that he was going to grow up one day to be Iron Man. The concept for the design was LEGO Man Thomas standing in a display case made from Lego Bricks. I was told by his Mom that at first he was excited because he thought it was of one of his favourite Senators players, but then was even more elated when he discovered that the poster was of him! Lol. Cute kid.

"LEGO Thomas" by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
“LEGO Thomas” by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
Thomas meet LEGO Thomas - Opening the Poster on Christmas Day
Thomas meet LEGO Thomas – Opening the Poster on Christmas Day

TAZ – Bite Me was a custom request by my Mom who had hired me to do up a poster of Taz for her good friend Geri (who is a huge Taz fan) and to incorporate Geri’s signature “Bite Me” catchphrase! Lol. I know my Mom was really excited to present it to her. This was my first ever attempt at drawing any Looney Tunes characters. The concept in this one, is that the concentric red/brown circles in the background is an homage to the background image of the old “That’s All Folks” title slide from the old cartoons. With Taz effectively “ripping” through it. This was a fun one. They were always my favourite to watch, so I may have to try my hand at other Looney Tunes characters in the future.

"BITE ME" by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
“BITE ME” by Gerry Albert of Imstillakid Designs
Taz - BITE ME Poster
Taz – BITE ME Poster

That about gets me caught up to date posting my art pieces that I have worked on since late October to the Holidays. I have a few projects currently on the go, and I will post them when I have completed / delivered them to my clients. I hope everyone out there reading this had an awesome Christmas / Holiday season and here’s to a bright, hopeful, prosperous and promising NEW YEAR!

Please feel free to comment! I like talking to people. 🙂

**INTERESTED IN HAVING SOMETHING MADE UP FOR YOU? CUSTOM POSTER COLLAGES OF YOUR FAVOURITE SHOWS OR GAMES OR BANDS OR TEAMS? FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME WITH YOUR REQUESTS @ gerryalbert1976@gmail.com **

Leave a Reply

